Caffeine is bad

That’s especially true for me. I’ve been battling the soda addiction thing for some 20 years. This week I finally put my foot down and said no more. The caffeine addiction really got started in earnest when I was in high school as I worked a lot in the market that my parents managed for some 12 years. The first thing I did when I started working was to hit the soda machine and open up the first of many sodas that I would have while at work. 

In the beginning Mountain Dew was the drink of choice  and it was not uncommon for me to have three or four in a matter of hours. That addiction followed me on to college and only got worse as I no trouble drinking a two liter in no time. The recent addiction of late has been Diet Coke. One of my new year’s resolutions was to cut back if not cut out Diet Coke.

The main reason for the resolution is because the caffeine headaches had become more numerous of late and I wanted to put an end to those. This past Tuesday I drank my last Diet Coke and I haven’t looked back. The first 24 hours were especially difficult as the caffeine headache was stronger than ever, but after that initial period the headaches have stayed away. Hope this is the beginning of the end and on to a healthier lifestyle.

One response to “Caffeine is bad

  1. Well done! it’s really difficult to cut out caffine, but well worth it! I must try harder 🙂

Leave a Reply

